How to use the dmSwitchboard12 Plans tab
In this tab, you'll see a list of all the dmSwitchboard12 Plans you've created. From here, you can
- Create, edit, delete and activate a Plan
- Set a Plan as your Disaster Recovery (DR) Plan
- View the Plan summary and add a comment to a Plan
- Access the Advanced Options for a Plan
- Add a comment to a Plan
Full instructions on how to create and amend dmSwitchboard 12 Plans can be found here.
How to use the dmSwitchboard12 Plans tab
Create a Plan
To create a new Plan, click the New Plan button. You will then have an empty plan to complete exactly as you require. There are six tabs:
- Summary: This tab shows the current information that has been input for the Plan. It shows a summary of all of the information currently entered into each of the other tabs.
- Company: Enter the company name, opening times and applicable dmCalls12 account
- Reception: Name your Reception and provide a DDI number. You can have multiple receptions. Click here for information on Reception extensions.
- Teams: Teams can be dialled directly or via Reception. You can have multiple teams although three are provided, free, with each dmSwitchboard12. They can be created with different opening hours and inbound call handling. Click here for information on Teams' extensions.
- People: These are individual 'users' of the switchboard and each has an extension. Each person can be a member of up to three teams. People can be created with different operating hours and out-of-hours call handling. Click here for information on personal extensions.
- Phones: Each team member can have one or more of a PSTN, VoIP or WebPhone. This tab also lets you set PSTN delay and delivery options.
SIP phone credentials
If you are setting up a SIP phone, the SIP credentials that you will need are available via this tab's Advanced Options. Click here for detailed information on retrieving an extension's Proxy/Username credentials.
Edit a Plan
Click the name of the plan you want to change. If you save your changes a new version of the plan is created.
Previous versions of the plan are retained for 30 days so, if you make a mistake, you can recover the old version.
Activate a Plan
Activate a Plan by clicking the asterisk alongside of it.
As only one Plan can be active at a time, when you actiavte a Plan, the previously active plan is de-activated.
Delete a Plan
Plans can also be deleted. Once a Plan has been deleted you have 24 hours to undelete it before it is gone for good.
To delete a Plan, click the dustbin alongside it and then click REFRESH to update the list of Plans.
Add a comment to a Plan
You can add comments against plans. To do this, click on Summary and complete the second field on the tab.
Designating your DR (Disaster Recovery) Plan
It's useful to have a plan that you can use in an emergency, say if your Internet connection goes down and you have to use PSTN handsets rather than VOIP.
Click on the grey DR button to nominate a Plan as your Disaster Recovery plan.
Note that you can have only one DR plan at a time. dmClub support can activate the DR plan if you can't do it yourself, for example if your internet connection has gone down and you don't have a smart phone.
How long are plans kept?
All plans are currently kept for at least 90 days unless you explicitly delete them (and even then, they can be undeleted for up to 24 hours).
Beyond that, the system ensures that it retains:
- One version (the most recent) of any named plan
- The currently active plan (even if it's not the newest version with that name and is more than 90 days old)
- The Disaster Recovery plan (ditto)
Further information
Full instructions on how to create and amend dmSwitchboard 12 Plans can be found here.
Information on: